Illinois Reporter

Stories from intrepid reporters attending the Illinois Press Foundation Journalism Workshop at Eastern Illinois University

A Man of Many Passions

by Caitlyn Karecki

The wind whistles through the fields, stirring the crops that grow from the earth. A boy with ginger hair squats to the ground, taking photos of healthy chickens for the local farmer showcase. Satisfied with his photos, he moves on to the other animals that other competitors have brought, walking with a pep in his step.

Jackson Farris

Jackson Farris has been invested in agriculture and journalism since a young age, being exposed to the life of farmers in his rural town of Clay City, IL. With a town population of under 1000, it’s safe to say that not a lot goes on. However, opportunities pop up when least expected, and Farris took that chance.

“I work for the FFA, also known as the Feature Farmers of America,” said Farris. “I’ve been a part of their team for three years now, and I can’t wait to pursue an official career with them.”

Although many teens don’t know what they want to pursue as a career, Farris is on top of his peers, wanting to expand his role on the FFA to be an agricultural reporter, someone who reports on the animals occupying the farms and advertises for the organization.

“I’ve always had a passion for animals,” said Farris. “Don’t get me wrong, I love plants too, but I do most of the work for the animals. I love to bond with them, and its rewarding to help. I’ve gained a sense of responsibility and purpose from this work.”

Even though the work is enjoyable, Farris struggles with balancing his free time and life. Between hanging out with friends, his guitar, and working at a part-time job, he finds it hard to strike up an equal balance. However, to him, it’s all worth it.

“It’s hard to manage these activities, but I enjoy doing them,” said Farris. “I’ve learned a lot from these opportunities, and even though I struggle to maintain a balance, I wouldn’t change it for the world.”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Information

This entry was posted on July 2, 2022 by in Uncategorized.