Illinois Reporter

Stories from intrepid reporters attending the Illinois Press Foundation Journalism Workshop at Eastern Illinois University

Child rapist sentenced to 30 years in prison

Herald& Review MK

Garold Holloway

By Maher Kawash

Garold Holloway, 53, was sentenced Wednesday morning in Macon County Circuit Court to 30 years in prison after being convicted of raping a 13 year-old girl.

The victim, now 16, was too traumatized to come to the stand and read her own statement, so her aunt did it for her.

“I often thought about taking my own life and tried to take my life, and these scars are not just emotional but physical as well,” the teen said in the statement. “I am now 16 years old, and I’m not even able to be a 16-year-old and do all the things a 16-year-old girl likes to do, like having a boyfriend, without being in fear.”

Assistant State’s Attorney Elizabeth Dobson recommended that two counts of 15 years should be served consecutively.

“Holloway expressed no sorrow for the victim, but was only sorry he was caught and convicted,” she said.

In the statement, the victim expressed the difficulties she has gone through since the assault.

“I had to leave my home, my family, my friends and my school, all because of that grown man,” the victim said.

Still recovering, the victim continues working with counselors and looks to move forward.

“I am putting this behind me, I want to try and do better in life. I’m really just done thinking about this,” the victim said in the statement. “I feel good because he won’t be able to do that to other girls anymore, but I wish he would have gotten a maximum sentence.”

Holloway has credit for 28 months served in jail and a minimum of 85 percent of his sentence must be served. Holloway would be eligible for parole in 2037.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 27, 2014 by in Uncategorized.
