Illinois Reporter

Stories from intrepid reporters attending the Illinois Press Foundation Journalism Workshop at Eastern Illinois University

hey, k cool, bye (about eduardo martinez)

My names Eduardo Martinez, I’m 16 for the moment, and I live in Blue island, Illinois. I really don’t like writing about myself, I find it awkward to describe who I am. I don’t even know myself sometimes, how can I tell you?  But for the sake of this activity, I’ll try my best.

twit

I go to Eisenhower High School, which is an alright school. Many people complain about it, but whatever works, works…

I listen to ghetto music as well as intelectual rap. I’m also into skinny jean music bands, but that’s like an alter ego. I’ve done a handful of sports at my school, but I only really like Cross Country. I could talk about that for hours, but I won’t put blisters on my fingers for this post’s sake.

One of my influences is Malcolm X. I find civil rights fascinating and I want to help the community more when I get older. For now, I’m part of the online publication, The Lion Review.

I’m really interested in writing. I stick to non-fiction writing and reading, because ain’t nobody got time fo’ fake stuff”. I’m currently at Eastern Illinois University for a journalism camp. We’re learning about how to work a blog on wordpress, but I’m already used to the site, so I don’t really need to stop writing for instruction. So far, it’s a pretty interesting camp, though.

I want to keep this short and sweet, so I’ll just state why I like journalism. Journalism to me is an area of great expression. It’s a way to spread information and change the minds of people, which leads to changing the world.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 18, 2013 by in 2013.
